top of page

Monkeypox multi-country outbreak

Jul 25, 2022

Situation update, 25 July 2022

Since the start of the monkeypox outbreak and as of 25 July 2022, 9 697 confirmed cases of monkeypox (MPX) have been reported from 27 EU/EEA countries: Spain (3 151), Germany (2 352), France (1 567), Netherlands (712), Portugal (588), Italy (407), Belgium (312), Austria (109), Sweden (79), Ireland (69), Denmark (59), Poland (48), Norway (46), Hungary (33), Slovenia (28), Greece (24), Romania (20), Malta (17), Czechia (16), Luxembourg (16), Finland (13), Iceland (9), Croatia (8), Bulgaria (4), Estonia (4), Latvia (3) and Slovakia (3).

Six MPX cases have been reported from two Western Balkan countries: Serbia (5) and Bosnia and Herzegovina (1). In addition, one case has been reported from Turkey.

ECDC provides updates for EU/EEA countries, the Western Balkans and Turkey twice a week (Tuesdays and Fridays), with the number of MPX cases since the start of the outbreak reported to The European Surveillance System (TESSy) or collected through ECDC’s epidemic intelligence from official public sources.

See maps and epidemic curves for the EU/EEA, the Western Balkans and Turkey

ECDC and the World Health Organization Regional Office for Europe (WHO/Europe) provide weekly updates for the countries of the WHO European Region. Please refer to the Joint ECDC-WHO Regional Office for Europe Monkeypox Surveillance Bulletin.


bottom of page